top of page

May Angler Spotlight

Please help me welcome Chad Cate as the May 2018 Angler of the month! Check out Chads products at Empire FIshing.

Chad is also an admin on the Screamin Reelz fishing page, Prostaff for Ardent Reels and Field staff for JB Jigz.

Name: Chad Cate

From: Collinsville, Oklahoma.

Age: 48

Years Fishing: 43

Favorite Bait: Black Buzz Bait

Personal Best: 5.6 pound largemouth bass

Fishing memory: "My Pappy taught me how to throw a spinning reel and Zebco when I was five or six"

Favorite Bible verse: Matthew 6:33: But seek ye first the kingdom of GOd and all these things shall be added unto you.

Chad's Testimony: "I was born and raised Baptist. My dad was a preacher here in Collinsville, Oklahoma for 40 years. After graduation, I took my own path and it led me every which way but right. I became an alcoholic. Fighting and partying became a way of life for me. It was horrible! I always felt empty and alone. Four years ago I had enough. I'd tried and tried to quit and would fall off the wagon every time. One night I loaded my gun and got in the car to drive somewhere to end it all. I turned the key to start my car and "Amazing Grace my Chains are Gone" came on the radio. I hit my knees and literally cried for hours.

God saved me that night. I never looked back at that life. The difference in quitting this time as opposed to all the times before is that I didn't try on my own. I let go and let God have my messed up life. From the ashes, he began creating life. All praise to him. He saved my life and saved my soul that night.

FIshing and music have been great outlets for me. I love playing the piano and will even play at different churches every now and then. Fishing is an escape everyone should enjoy. I catch myself sometimes just looking at the trees and landscape and think. 'what a great God.' He gave me the opportunity to fish and provided the scenery to go with it. Next time you're out fishing, take the time to look around and be amazed at what God has provided for you to enjoy."


bottom of page