top of page

Locating Shallow Bass

Ask any angler: Why do big bass swim so shallow this time of year? You'll probably get an array of different answers. The truth is there is no real right or wrong answer to this question. Even those who have studied bass behavior for years haven't quite pinpointed the reason. But many have their theories. For anyone who knows me, they know I haven't been fishing long but in the year I have fished the most interesting thing I've learned is fish behavior. Over the past month in a half I've caught a handful of fish around the 3-4 pound range. Each catch has me ask "why was that fish there?" Here are a few factors I think may be the reason why.

Instincts: With each fish I catch over three pounds, there are two constants: 1. It's a female. 2. It's no more than four feet from the bank. Most of the baits I throw right now are creature baits impersonating pesky bluegill, shad, worms or crawfish. These creatures are an easy meal for a big female close to the bank. Everybody's gotta eat right? So why not gravitate towards the areas where those creepy crawlers live? Alot of spring female bass are carrying eggs as well and dont want to expend a ton of energy chasing food around in deeper water. They know where the food is and spend early mornings or late nights feeding at the banks.

Length of Day: Traditionally the spawn in Indiana and much of the midwest runs through the months of May-June. We notice the days begin to grow longer which means the sun stays out for longer periods of time. Shallow water allows for more light penatration and more light penatration means bass can see baits late into the afternoon when the sun is still up.

Water Temperature: Bass will typically hunker down in the winter months to conserve energy for spawning time. As soon as those temps start to rise, bass will move shallow. Most crawfish come out of hibernation when the water reaches the 52-54 degree mark. The bass know it's time to go hunting. Furthermore, with rising water temps bass may be influenced by the element of unfamilarity. Say an area has an extra long winter but then temps become warmer and one day a five-pounder sees a crankbait swimming by in shallow water. They're gonna want to eat that unfamilair bait they haven't seen all winter.

Weather Patterns: Weather is a big factor in bass fishing in general. I've seen guys wait on a thunderstorm to move through and immediately smash bass for two hours following that storm. Fish those drains where worms and bugs are being washed out and you'll have success. I always like to check the upcoming forecast on my phone to see what the weather is going to do. Grant it, I'll fish in just about any type of weather (No ice and no lightning) but if I see we have a four day stretch of 70 degree weather I know the big ones will more than likely be shallow.

Obviously I'm not an expert on bass fishing. I didn't get a degree in bass behavioral science (is there such a thing?). But the factors mentioned above have all played out to be true for me when it comes to catching hefty shallow bass. Not having the luxury of electronics that can locate fish for me, I depend on the things above to have those successful days on the banks. Plus the mystery of not knowing whether I'm right makes it all the more fun.

What's been working for me?

Squarebill Crankbait White Pearl Fluke Bluegill Storm Swimbait


bottom of page