top of page

October Angler Spotlight

Congratulations to angler Marcel Baker for being selected for the Hoosierbassin October Angler Spotlight. This man loves to fish and loves his role as a father and husband. Raising future anglers is a passion of his and he took some time to share his story. Read more about Marcel below.

Name: Marcel Baker

From: Heflin, Alabama

Years Fishing: 25 (6 specifically for largemouth bass)

Favorite Bait: Buzzbait and Rattletrap

Age: 28

Personal Best: 10 pound, 2 oz. Largemouth Bass

Fishing Memories: "I have two fishing memories that will be with me for the rest of my life. Last year I got to watch my 4-year-old son catch his personal best bass on a wacky rig completely by himself. Cast to landing and I got it on film. The bass weighed 4.34 pounds. My second favorite fishing memory was of my daughter (then 2) catching her very fist bass on a rooster tail. Her fish, I also captured on film and it was about a pound. Out of all the bass I've caught over the past six years, I haven't been more excited and happy than watching my legacies do what I am so passionate about. They had the same excitement and joy in their eyes. Definitely the happiest moments in my bass fishing career."

Marcel's Testimony: "My passion for bass fishing didn't take off until right before my son was born in 2013. I knew I wanted to teach him how to fish so he could pass it on to my grandchildren and great-grandchildren long after I'm gone. The drive and passion for fishing only grew stronger once my daughter was born. That's how it's been the past six years. I read and research all I can. I buy all the tackle and lures and boats and fishing gear I can in hopes that my children will have the knowledge at an early age to do what it took me until almost 30 to do.

I'm a huge family man. I believe that without God and my family, life would have no purpose.

If there is one thing that I would like to share with my fellow anglers it would be this: Seek God in all you do on and off the water. Fish with your family every opportunity you get. At the end of this life, all that will remain is God who has been there since the beginning and knew us before he even created us. Make memories with the ones you love and hold them dear. I'm proud to say I'm making those memories with my wife Tiffany Baker, my two children, my mentor Lee Barber and my best friend Joe Fourquet as often as I can. I could never thank my Heavenly Father enough.

Pictured above - Marcel and his son's first tournament together where his son took second place and Marcel took first place


bottom of page